Posted by: yemenia68 | February 26, 2009

What is your motivation?

 

Have you ever experienced the “what if” phase in your life. There was a time in my life when I allowed the “what if“ fantasy to overcome my reality. It once consumed my thoughts to the point where I didn’t allow myself to enjoy my life as it was. That was my way of punishing myself for not going after my dreams, not following my heart.  I was so caught up in what could’ve been, rather than making the best of what I had. The thing is………how do you convince yourself to settle for the insignificant goals, achievements, and triumphs that you’ve already accomplished when you have so much more to give and accomplish?
I see so many people surrender to the simplest setback s in their lives to succumb to the more simple and carefree lifestyles , not having to be bothered with all the responsibilities that come with a more challenging life filled with exploration and higher achievement.
I never wanted to surrender to a limited version of “my happiness”. I wanted the whole nine yards. There was a point in my life when my identity was completely transformed. I was living the role of someone else. I didn’t feel as happy as I wanted to be. There was always something missing.  I didn’t feel content with my life at the time. That was when the “what if’s” started to kick in.
Throughout all the hardships, my inspiration (what if) was always there to guide me. I have had many setbacks and obstacles in my life; It surprises me that I still have the energy to continue the process of fulfilling my dreams. I have been “swimming against the tide” for as long as I can remember. There are times when I wonder if all the hard work, resistance, and perseverance will pay off. Do I doubt myself? Sometimes I do. After all, I am human. 
I can’t help but say “thank you ‘what if’, you were my motivation to become a better person.”

Responses

  1. Totally disagree, I have been through this phase not so long, I was more of a rebillion during my younger years and made so many decisions based on what I thought was the right thing, I never cared for people’s opinions or comments. but then, I reached a stage where this “what if” question popped into my mind, and believe me, this can be so hard when you have challanged everyone to achieve your dreams, to realize that you might have been wrong! I wasn’t used to regretting anything in my life, but I’ve been in a rough time when I felt so disappointed with my life decisions. I’m over it now, but I promised myself never to go through this “what if” dilemma, and to make more rational decisions in the future.

  2. This is why it’s always better to “agree to disagree”, cuz each person has their own individual experiences in life. Even though we are sometimes put into the same situations, there will always be a difference in the outcome, depending on your culture, lifestyle, religion, and environment.
    You know the saying “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure” Does that make sense? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

