Posted by: yemenia68 | April 30, 2009

Happiness is acceptance.

What is happiness? Is it an emotional condition expressed through satisfaction or content? Can a person be happy without feeling satisfied or content? Happiness can be expressed many different ways. Some people are happy with materialistic achievements and some are happy curing diseases in third world countries. My point is that each individual perceives happiness differently.
I used to think at one point in my life that happiness was an inevitable achievement that smart people obtain by making the right choices in life. I was very naïve back then. I remember how I was determined to be a happy person, no matter what happened to me. One thing I failed to realize is that there are forces beyond our control that determine how our lives are destined to be. Some call it the will of God; some call it luck, or maybe even karma. Whichever you choose to believe, there will always be a reason that you are not fully satisfied with your life.
I know I sound pessimistic, but I actually believe that we were not created to merely fulfill our dreams and be happy. Life is never that simple. For every day of happiness, there will be weeks of complications, obstacles, and hardships that follow. There are times when I feel so overwhelmed by sadness that I feel like I will never feel happy again. I find that the best thing to do is to let go of the issues that bother me or make me feel unhappy. It is never easy to avoid the important situations in your life, because obviously, these are the issues that cause you pain.
I have tried to understand why life is so complicated and why certain things happen in my life, things that I believe I have no control over, but unfortunately, have failed to find an answer to. This is why I turn to God. Prayer has always been my remedy for everything that I cannot deal with in life. I know that there are matters that simply cannot be resolved by human will, which is why I seek guidance from God to help overcome the hardships and complications that follow me every now and then.
With age comes wisdom. Now that I am older and wiser, my perception of happiness has changed. I have learned to accept and adapt to everything that life throws at me with a strong will and positive attitude. This is why it is easier for me to accept any negativity in my life without necessarily being unhappy.  

Next week is finals week………now you know why I’m not making any sense at all. : P

Responses

  1. I’ve always thought that being unhappy or being angry would actually make things even worse. With anger, a person’s ability to think straight and solve a conflict is hindered.

    I just can’t be neutral, neither happy nor unhappy. I think it is a lot easier to just look at the bright side of things and have a clearer mind to find a way to get there.

    and yes…finals are coming up here too.

  2. Mab3oos,

    You literally summed it up (looking at the bright side of things) ; )

    I believe that growing up here in the States, you kind of adapt to and follow a certain mentality that is full of self-absorbed, selfish, and egotistical ideas and goals that cripple our ability to persevere and make sacrifices when we deal with hardship and despair. We live in a society that strives to achieve the “American Dream”. A dream that promises the dream home, dream car, and dream job. In other words, “self-absorbed, selfish, and egotistical” goals. I’m not saying that everyone has this mentality, but the majority of American society does.

    Once you see the rest of the world and how people are not as privileged as you are, you began to change your perception of life. You learn the importance of giving, making sacrifices, and most importantly how to persevere in the face of hardship.

    Btw, it’s nice to see the mature side of you every once in a blue moon……..lol, just kidding.


Leave a Reply

Categories

