Posted by: yemenia68 | February 2, 2010

Gender Roles and Social Structure

 

 

One topic that never seems to get old is “gender roles”. There are a lot of discussions on the internet regarding this issue. One that I found interesting is this one on marriage and careers:
http://www.forbes.com/2006/08/23/Marriage-Careers-Divorce_cx_mn_land.html?thisSpeed=6000

I am not a feminist (for those of you who might get that idea from previous posts).  I just feel that if children were taught at a younger age that they should not be limited to the gender roles that society sees fit for them, it would be a better world. People definitely have different opinions on gender roles, depending on their race, culture, and religion. I believe that one basic rule should apply to everyone. Every human, men and women alike should have the right to choose what they prefer.  

There are obviously things that we can’t discard when it comes to gender roles, like men’s masculinity, which enables them to take on tougher chores or jobs. The same goes for women, childbearing and breastfeeding have given women the role of the nurturer in the family.

Because this is my personal belief, I tend not to instill that belief in my children. Although I do teach them the morals and standards of Islam, everything else I leave for them to decide. I need them to know that they do have a choice as to what they want in life. One thing that I am guilty of shoving down their throats is the belief that communicating effectively helps us understand each other. Whenever there is a misunderstanding, discussing the issue always seems to help.

One of my favorite pastimes is group discussions with my children. I have always encouraged them to speak their minds, as long as they do it in a respectful manner.  We usually discuss a variety of topics for the sole purpose of understanding each other’s perspectives on any given issue. 

The other day as we were discussing gender roles, my son, who is in college, said that when he does consider getting married, he would want his wife to work, at least until they decide to have children. My daughter on the other hand, also in college and working fulltime for the past few years, said that as soon as her husband finds a better job, she wants to retire to housewife. This was quite interesting, since we all knew how she hates anything remotely related to house work. When her brother asked her why the change of heart, she said “I used to think that a career would make me happy, but it didn’t. It has put a gap between me and my husband, so I want to try another alternative.”

So conclusively, this is what it all comes down to: “Everyone should at least have the right to choose their ‘role’ in life”

Responses

  1. […] In the post, Gender Roles and Social Structure by yemenia68, she says, “I just feel that if children were taught at a younger age that they […]

  2. To Whom it may concern,

    You have a poem on your site, under friendship called “A Friend is like a Flower..”

    That is claiming to be written by: Emma Guest, It was not written by Emma
    nor any of the others that have plagiarized my poem (Emma Guest, Diana
    Mitev, Crystal Kirk Preece, Saniya Syed, Sumona Das, Layla or Amanda R.
    Kessler)

    Please change my name, Adrianne Goff as the correct author or take the poem
    down.

    Copyright Adrianne Goff 1990 – 2010 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

    Thank you for your time.

    Regards,

    Adrianne

  3. I’m sorry to hear that Adrianne. I honestly did not know that the poem is yours.
    I will make the correction right away.

  4. Thank you Yemenia68!

  5. […] The busiest day of the year was May 11th with 55 views. The most popular post that day was Gender Roles and Social Structure. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

