Posted by: yemenia68 | September 15, 2010

Conflict and Superiority

Sometimes when I’m alone, I think about my life and try to understand which aspect of it has brought me to where I am now. There are even times when I want to know exactly who I am. Have I become this person because of the circumstances I’ve encountered throughout my life, or is it the other way around? Do my personal traits and personality contribute to the outcome of each circumstance I come across? We all strive to be the best we can be but sometimes you just wonder how one continues his/her journey with so much conflict in this world. It’s almost as if there was a mysterious source that just wants to break your enthusiasm.
Of course we all know about the nature vs. nurture controversy, which in my opinion should be put as nature and nurture, as they both contribute to who we become. The only conflict here is which of the two contributes more. The funny thing about this issue is when you find yourself relating to a complete stranger, with a different mindset, religion, and culture. However, you and your own family member can’t seem to find a simple issue to agree on. This is when everything gets complicated, when there is conflict.
I’ve always wondered what makes life so complicated. Is conflict to blame for the barriers that we come across in life? I believe so. Conflict is forever inevitable in our lives. It can be conflict between mentalities, opinions, standards, religions, race, culture, and so on. Not to say that dissimilarity, variation, and diversity are negative aspects of life but they are all sources of conflict.
Some people will say that life without conflict is boring and maybe that is true. There is nothing wrong with being different. The only time there is a problem is when people refuse to respect others’ opinions or choices. When there are two opposing sides, each side strives to prove their superiority and that’s when people cannot get along. It’s almost as if humanity cannot survive without superior and inferior groups, mentalities, countries, races. Is this what we as human beings have created for ourselves or is it a greater source that compels us to participate in an ongoing competition for superiority?
What brought these thoughts to my mind was after watching an Arabic series that aired on the holy month of Ramadan. It was about the years following the death of the Prophet Mohamed (saaw) and how his companions agreed on who would become Ruler after his death. I’m not going to go into detail about the series although it left me wondering about many issues in life.
Responses

  1. Welcome back ,Eid mubarak to u and ur family 🙂
    We miss u here

    I didn’t watch the series , but I’m with you that life without conflict is boring, unfortunately nowadays rarely to find people accept others with all their difference’s and usually that lead to a big gap between them

  2. Hello Whisper,

    Thank you and Eid Mubarak to you too.
    I hardly get time to blog any more 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

