Posted by: yemenia68 | February 14, 2011

Cerebral Palsy: Part 2

For the past few months I’ve been “adjusting”, for the lack of a better word, to my daughter, Biquis’s, new medical condition. I don’t know what’s worst, the fact that I’ve been feeling depressed lately or that I simply don’t know how to deal with the situation in hand. The main reason I was feeling depressed was because I felt like I was failing my responsibility as a mother, which is the worst feeling any mother can experience.  It felt as if I was spiraling down into a dark hole.

 
I’ve been searching the web for support groups for parents with children who have disabilities; there are many, but this post (supermom myth), at one of the websites really hit home.  It talks about how moms with disabled children can stop competing with other moms because we simply are different. After reading the article, I felt reassured that it is okay not to always have everything done on time, or be tired during the day or to simply experience the overwhelming feeling of frustration. All this time, the one thing I needed was to know that I don’t have to be a “supermom” and just do the best I can; even if that means I can’t do it all. There are days that I am too exhausted to do anything other than care for Bilquis because I’m up most of the night when she needs me ever few hours to turn her in bed.

 
Another issue is providing her with an environment that will make it easier for the both of us to adjust to our new situation. A wheelchair Van, ramp, walk-in shower, and an adjustable bed are some of the equipment that would make her life easier. I’ve been also told that I should get a nurse to help take care of her, but for some reason, the idea doesn’t seem to register with me. I don’t know why it is so hard for me to allow a total stranger, even if that stranger is a certified nurse, to help me care for her. It’s going to take a while to provide all the necessary equipment but I’m taking it one step at a time. Although this issue has yet to be conquered, hopefully everything will work out for the best.

 
At least there has been some progress. After I was told that her insurance didn’t cover in-home physical therapy, I started calling the insurance company for answers. At first I was told that it actually didn’t cover so I decided to change her insurance. Once I told them I was changing her insurance, they said that they do cover in-home therapy; they just needed authorization from her doctor. My question is, “why was it so hard for them to clarify that the first time we tried to get her care?” She lost 7 whole months of therapy due to their incompetent employees who failed to explain that in the beginning.

 
I’m feeling so much better now that I’m on the right track.

Responses

  1. I truly believe that God gives such kids to only mom’s He knows will love them unconditionally with their entire heart and give them the best life possible. My God bless you and your daughter.

    I would urge you to look at the nurses from another angle. just as it takes special moms to care for such children, it also takes an equally caring nurse to do so. I am willing to bet that those nurses who choose to take care of such children have prior experience or exposure to them..be it a sibling, child, or relative.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I will think about that.

  2. I just shared that article with my other friends who have children with special needs. Thank you for your honesty and I am so glad you were able to find that article. Kill the Supermom! LOL
    Take each day one at a time.
    Your friend,
    Christi

    • Hey Christi,

      Thanks for passing by. I’m glad you liked it. Aren’t you supposed to be……….let me just send you and email…………lol

  3. Located your website through Stumbleupon. You know I am signing up to your rss.

    • Glad you liked it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

