Posted by: yemenia68 | January 24, 2012

The power of writing

Writing is a very powerful tool. It has the power to either unite or separate societies. It has the ability to enlighten us about things we never knew existed. It tells us how people from the opposite side of the world live, worship and communicate. It shares the history of humanity from different eras, countries, religions, and cultures throughout the globe.
Writing that forces people to think and within those thoughts, creates doubt in their minds about their most significant beliefs and opinions is definitely the most compelling and stimulating kind of writing. It expresses the author’s mesmerizing ability to influence us in a very intriguing manner.
Alongside writing comes the acknowledgement of criticism, because depending on what you write, there will most likely be an opposing side of critics, simply because not everyone will agree with what is written. But isn’t that the beauty of writing, telling your story without having to care about the critics? Isn’t that basically why people write, if not to influence others, it’s to understand how their writing affects them?
I’ve always appreciated the art of writing. For as long as I can remember, my favorite past-time has been reading. I don’t think there has been a time when I was ever bored of anything I’ve read. Regardless of what type of reading materiel it was, I always seemed satisfied. I always felt a hunger for reading which never seems to be fulfilled, not for the lack of good material, but because I never get enough. So throughout my everlasting love of reading, I acknowledged that writing has also become another favorite pastime.
Now that I’ve shared my opinions on writing, let me get to my point. Although I love to write, sometimes I fear that I don’t have the ability to express myself in a more sophisticated manner. In ways that most writers captivate their readers and force them to feel every emotion they experience simply by reading their exquisitely written stories.
So how does one tell their life story without having to fear judgment? And if so, is the story worthy of being written. For a very long time now, I have been going back and forth with the idea of doing just that, writing a memoir, but for some unidentified reason, I always seem to put it on the back burner.
I guess one of the reasons for my hesitation is because my history is somewhat complicated. Although I’ve learned to accept and appreciate everything in my life, not everyone will understand my reasons for writing about it, especially my family. One thing I’ve realized about writing a memoir is that family and friends are always affected by it one way or the other. Not everyone wants the world to share their lives with them, so I have to put that into consideration.
So for now I’m going to stick with writing about everything and anything other than my life. Who knows, maybe one day I will reconsider my options.

Responses

  1. Writing IS a powerful tool. As you may have heard the pencil is mightier than the sword. I also prefer the pencil. Writing releases my stress coming from every corner I could think of. I also think that you should become a writer judging from your writing. I know how you feel about writing and exposing your “complicated” life or certain characters, thinking some might get offended. I totally agree with you; I have the same feeling about writing. Although I haven’t experienced as much experiences as you, you can’t judge without having stepped in that person’s shoes. @M37@4!!! 70X!!

    • I’m so not as hip as you might believe, so I suggest you translate the last part of your comment. You do realize that I have roamed with the dinosaurs. Don’t let my awesomeness fool you…………hehehe.

  2. I hope you change your mind and share your story. I think you are an incredible writer and I look forward to talking about every other thing with you. 🙂

    • Hey Christi,

      Thanks for passing by. Like I said, it’s something I will have to delay for now. Hopefully in the near future, I will reconsider.
      I’m taking baby steps for now. Other than you and a few close friends, only my children and nieces even know I have a blog.

  3. dont wrting deopends if you feels like you blongs toa comunity or feels belongsd to a network (your weblog links your email adres you r cha page frinds your profisonal or hobby comunity online site ) if you belong to a network you can build your owen idnetety choose what node to conect to and change if you dont know them gfor year or in real life if you disaggree
    you can write you owen identety build it on the pilospher or the discussen you have had

    your life project are what you want in life are you a cyboperunk or a evormientelist that deoends on what you write in the network or shoe you printed stuff in real life or is it onkly the elite or amyeb thsoe ppl thaht dont write or write in weblofg email 🙂 that have so good knowen identety that they choose to build up on ther owen that reakly can have a idenety and a life porhect in this conected world ? you csn be a cyberpunk dont care abuit other you can be a guy help ppl on the suoprt borad you you can just write your woen esay or diaery or open end on you computer if you know how to build your delf by choose pilospher that online moste of them you can build a new identety you not stucked to work or poltical party ort comunity maybe its only one that can write or copnicate by write only that need a comunity rest can build a life log inudvalzied proect? if the comuntiy dont make your idnety based on some speailc knowelgde or intrest you can build your owen liquid modernety in your pda you dont need to care abut civil socytety becuse they slow ther owen prtoblesm and they havve other things to do like max weber said make mony hard or be a ciold berucarte that care abut thinking just admisntration no feeling no soul like you can do if you write in maling ist/forum/weblog vcomunity (or you can be anymouse cyberopunk that have his owen cryoted stuff in his perosnal dgital asistant bit like before the loners that moved oute to the wooeds in the cottage to live his owen live/be ciontact nature/dont worry abut politics/money/frinds/comunity/famliy ) only worry abut that once a year when he choosed to do it himswelf if you can build your owen indetety by wrting /help ppl in froum(email/theard borered do you them need or do they need you the civil socicyty ? why should you care abut them when you get moste of the info from the net and networks as long as civil socyty donet end up as a demagog or obama/iraq/aghanistans like system ghave you any intrest ina so called comunity in citizens ina civil socyity ?becuse imho civil socitys are opisied of inuvlaized indentys agree?

    sorry bit long :sorry not good at enghlis 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

